's disqualification loss to Carlo Prater
will not be overturned,
Vice President of Regulatory Affairs Marc Ratner said in a
release on Thursday.
Silva caught Prater with a knee before landing a flurry of strikes
on the ground to earn an apparent stoppage 29 seconds into the
opening frame of their middleweight bout. However, referee Mario
Yamasaki ruled that Silva was disqualified for landing illegal
blows to the back of his opponent's head, giving Prater the
victory. Replays appeared to indicate that at least one of Silva's
punches landed to the back of Prater's head.
"Based on the referee's verbal warnings and his determination that
the blows were intentional and a disqualifying foul, this is not
the type of decision that can be reviewed. Therefore the decision
stands," Ratner said. "Recently, Zuffa has decided to implement the
use of instant replay at all international events that are
self-regulated and to encourage all regulators to consider the
feasibility and effectiveness of instant replay in the sport of
MMA. While instant replay would not have reversed the call in the
Silva-Prater bout, we believe that it could be valuable to referees
and the sport in the future."
Silva was awarded an undisclosed win bonus for the Jan. 14 event,
which took place at the HSBC Arena in Rio de Janeiro. Both of the
27-year-old's UFC appearances have been brief, as he earned a
40-second technical knockout victory over Luis Ramos in
August. Prater, meanwhile, now has five consecutive victories
dating back to February 2011.
view original article >>